Original Translation: “J’ai tant rêvé de toi”

I received the 2014 French Poetry Translation prize at St. John’s College in Annapolis, MD for this translation of Robert Desnos’ poem “J’ai tant rêvé de toi”. The original French can be found below the translation.

I have so dreamed of you that you lose your reality.

Is there still time to reach that living body and to kiss on that mouth the origin of the voice that is so dear to me?

I have so dreamed of you that my arms accustomed in embracing your shade to crossing themselves on my chest would not bend to the contour of your body, perhaps.

And that, before the real apparition of that which haunts me and governs me for days and years, I would become a shade without a doubt.

O sentimental balances.

I have so dreamed of you that there is no more time, without a doubt, that I might wake myself. I sleep standing, the body exposed to all the apparitions of Life and Love and you, the only one that counts now for me, I would be less able to touch your brow and your lips than the first lips and the first brow come.

I have so dreamed of you, so walked, talked, lain with your phantom that there remains no more for me perhaps, and even so, than to be a phantom amongst the phantoms and a hundred times more shade than the shade that promenades and will promenade cheerfully on the sundial of your life.


J’ai tant rêvé de toi que tu perds ta réalité.

Est-il encore temps d’atteindre ce corps vivant et de baiser sur cette bouche la naissance de la voix qui m’est chère?

J’ai tant rêvé de toi que mes bras habitués en étreignant ton ombre a se croiser sur ma poitrine ne se plieraient pas au contour de ton corps, peut-être.

Et que, devant l’apparence réelle de ce qui me hante et me gouverne depuis des jours et des années, je deviendrais une ombre sans doute.

Ô balances sentimentales.

J’ai tant rêvé de toi qu’il n’est plus temps sans doute que je m’éveille. Je dors debout, le corps exposé a toutes les apparences de la vie et de l’amour et toi, la seule qui compte aujourd’hui pour moi, je pourrais moins toucher ton front et tes lèvres que les premières lèvres et le premier front venu.

J’ai tant rêvé de toi, tant marché, parlé, couché avec ton fantôme qu’il ne me reste plus peut-être, et pourtant, qu’a être fantôme parmi les fantômes et plus ombre cent fois que l’ombre qui se promène et se promènera allègrement sur le cadran solaire de ta vie.

—Robert Desnos (1900-1945)

Leave a comment